NoBloPoMo 8: The love of my life

by Acacia

I have had two great loves in my life. The first was my father, who was the best example of what a man should be. He loved with all his heart, was affectionate and kind, and at the same time was strong, reliable and wise. He loved ice cream and playing poker and could find a way to relate to everyone he met. I adored him and when he died in 2001 it broke my heart.

In the interim was a boyfriend I had when I was 17. Unlike the blonde (not terribly bright) pretty-boys I had dated before, he was dark and smart and sexy, with more than enough nerd to keep him interesting. The relationship didn’t last very long (and its ending was kind of torturous,) but it taught me what kind of man was really best suited for me,

Finally I met the love of my life. I had always expected the event to be some dramatic romantic event, but it wasn’t. We went out on our first date and everything just felt right. We liked similar things and were interested in each other’s interests. Our physical attraction was strong and we had fun together. Being in love with him felt quiet and safe and there was nobody else in the world I would rather spend time with. After 21 years together (18 married,) I still feel that way.

We’ve never had any significant fights (just arguments for an hour or so,) no relationship drama, just a feeling like we fell in love just a few weeks ago, even after all this time. He once said that finding the right person was just a matter of timing and geography. I’m very lucky that they both worked out for me.

