Review: Let the Great World Spin

by Acacia

Let the Great World Spin
Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Interwoven story around a man walking a tightrope between the towers of the World Trade Center in 1974. At first I found the story off-putting because of the initial focus on Corrigan (the pseudo-priest) and the prostitutes of the Bronx. Their lives are so ugly that I wanted to dismiss them, to stay away. But tracing the lines between their lives and those around them – these they left behind, once the dissolution their lives moves into the lives of others the various strands come together at the end. By the end I loved the book – but I understand what I once read about the difference between “junk” reading and art. The first is ultimately unsatisfying. You gobble it down and immediately want another. The second is satisfying – and is, in itself, enough. I felt sated after reading this book.

View all my reviews

